19/08/2012

On my first day back at work, after a week of holidaying, I develop a migraine. I haven’t had one since I was about 21. I could barely see what I was doing in the cinema. I had to leave early. Zoe was kind enough to drive me home in her car. I directed her to the lane at the back of our building, it’s called fish lane.
For Zoe, with deepest gratitude.

a fleeting glimpse
down fish lane
the butterfly departs

On my way to work I cycled to the Archives book store to pick up a nice copy of Tokuboku’s Poems to eat. Going back to the bike I passed the Wild at heart tattoo studio

the wild heart tamed
on the street corner
a pigeon nods

out the window
go best laid plans
a migraine

About El Norto

I write haiku. This is my haiku journal.
This entry was posted in Haibun, Haiku, Poetry, Senryu and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 19/08/2012

  1. Lori says:

    Thank you for sharing.

  2. misswoodhouse says:

    Oh, isn’t migraine a perfect metaphor! In my experience, yes. Glad to have found this blog.

Leave a Reply

