haiku three one three.

Hello all!

Today was meant to be the day. The last day of a six day work week. With a surprise double shift thrown in for good measure, after someone called in sick at the cinema. Today was meant to be the day. I would wake up refreshed after an eight hour sleep. My eyes open in the gloom. Already some daylight sneaking in from the curtains. I dare not look at the time, in case it’s too early. The electric fan creates white noise and circulation in the corner. I roll over and close my eyes. Today is the day. Curiosity gets the better of me. I check my phone for the time, ten minutes to six. Might as well get up to relieve myself. Today is the day. I stumble to the bathroom. As I sit down the sound of traffic from the road reaches my ears. And something else… Oh well might as well make the most of it! Today is the day!

early dawn
even the crow
sounds annoyed

Another attempt at a haibun.
Thanks for reading!
Peace!

About El Norto

I write haiku. This is my haiku journal.
This entry was posted in Haibun, Haiku, Poetry, Senryu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

