haiku two three zero.

Hello all!

More tragic news in my inbox:

Vale John Knight (1935-2012)

Australian haiku poets will be saddened by the death of John Knight. Editor, teacher, judge and mentor, John died after a long battle with cancer. He was founder and manager of Post Pressed, one of the most prolific publishers of haiku internationally. John was also foundation editor of paper wasp: an Australian journal of haiku which continues to publish quality haiku from around the world. He will be deeply missed within the haiku community and beyond.

Cynthia Rowe     President: The Australian Haiku Society

I did not know John personally, but I’d had some correspondence with him, while buying some books from Post pressed. I knew he had cancer, and I feared the worst when there was no reply to my last email enquiry. Rest in Peace John. The following is one of his haiku, that he signed off one of his emails to me with:

cast my ashes

into running water

I shall reach the sea

Now my haiku has been made all the more poignant. I like to think we are talking about the same running water.

late night journey

on the bridge I see the river

at low tide

Thanks for reading!

Peace.

About El Norto

I write haiku. This is my haiku journal.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Senryu and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

