haiku one seven zero.

Hello all!

Firstly happy new year!

Secondly

low voices murmur

in the hotel corridor

slow day

such heat!

the kookaburras

half-hearted laugh

The last poem is a revision from a previous post. It’s from the Mt Gravatt ginko to be exact. The last ginko for the year. I feel like I’ve nailed it. But will see what the future brings. I will always try to improve upon all my poems. In fact I went through my notebook and found this one:

after grandma’s funeral

a cold night

I wear her cardigan

– to

cold night

after grandma’s funeral

I wear her cardigan

I think it works better, and such a minimal change. Also the first poem is inspired by a haiku from the Haiku anthology. But it’s also inspired by my work in the hotel. Here’s the haiku that inspired mine. It’s by Anita Virgil.

the slow day…

in the empty motel corridor

a stack of dirty dishes

Thanks for reading!

Peace.

About El Norto

I write haiku. This is my haiku journal.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

