Haiku one hundred and fifteen.

Hello all!

Well sorry for the suspension of the blog, but being on holiday in Malaysia, and on islands with only 12 hours (the night portion) of electricity a day, it had to be done. Besides I tried, but could not get WordPress to work on the resort computers, oh what a shame! It’s actually been quite nice to not have the internet take over my life! But here I am again, and I’ve decided to do all the missing blogs today, just to catch up! So bear with me, here we go..

painting landscapes

on the river boardwalk

spring rain

at pasar malam *

so much food

my stomach hurts

on jalan Petaling +

red betel stains

in the drain grate

stepping over the drain

she arches her back

a grey street cat

* Pasar malam means “night market” in Bahasa Melayu. Literal translation: pasar = market, malam= night. There are lots of night markets all over Malaysia, for this one though, we were in a fairly well-known one, in Kuala Lumpur’s Little India.

+ Jalan Petaling, or Petaling street (jalan means street or road, and can also mean way, as in let’s get on our way. It seems to me to be similar to camino in Spanish, but I may be wrong, as I obviously haven’t done a great deal of research, I did check my newly acquired Oxford Malay – English dictionary though.) this street is a fairly famous street in KL’s Chinatown. See link below for more info.

Thanks for reading!

Peace.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petaling_Street

About El Norto

I write haiku. This is my haiku journal.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Senryu and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

