The death of a poet.

I recieved some sad new this morning. One of my favourite (albeit recent discoveries) Australian haiku poets died yesterday. Rest in peace Janice M Bostok. Here’s the message/obituary I recieved:

Vale Janice M Bostok 1942 -2011

Australian haiku poets will be saddened by the death of revered haiku
poet Janice M Bostok, Patron of the Australian Haiku Society, editor,
teacher, judge and mentor in the haiku field. Janice died peacefully in
the Murwillumbah Hospital yesterday afternoon Sunday 4th September. On
behalf of the Australian Haiku Society (HaikuOz) may I offer
condolences to Janice’s family, and to her haiku colleagues and
friends.

Cynthia Rowe
President: The Australian Haiku Society

Also here is a link to her website:

http://members.dodo.com.au/janbos/contents.html

It’s always sad to hear of the passing of a great talent. My favourite poem of hers, and possibly her most well known is this one:

stationary bus
talking we visit places
within each other

And here’s my tribute:

 

great lady

I never knew you, yet

you inspire me.

 

Peace.

 

 

About El Norto

I write haiku. This is my haiku journal.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The death of a poet.

  1. Symanntha says:

    That’s very touching.

  2. alarmingman says:

    I’m going to die too, bro…

Leave a Reply

