#35

Well I have had a very down and up day today. I’m feeling a bit miserable from having yet another cold, which has lead me to fantasising about going walkabout. Just dropping everything, and just walking across the country, then the world. Getting away from all the noise and confusion. Away from being locked into this capitalistic, materialistic society, which I’m such an integral part of. Of course that would mean sleeping rough, outside on my own, away from the comfort of all my books, music, films etc. Which of course I can live without but still. Then my ego is pained slightly by my haikus. I want to write amazing beautiful pieces, that give a sense of awe, in the same way that other writers do for me such as:

El Sauz.                            The Willow.

Tierno sauz                         Tender willow

Casi oro, casi ambar,        Almost gold, almost amber

Casi luz…                            Almost light…

Jose Juan Tablada.

But I constantly feel frustrated that mine fall well short of my own expectations. I’m not fishing for compliments here I’m just well having a whinge I guess. I suppose a comforting thought is that no matter what I write, hopefully it will resonate with someone out there.

Well on to todays haiku, of which once again I have done 2 versions.

Street kid standing strong

Defiant in face of death

Facing the death squad

Then:

Imminent danger

Small child stands defiant

In face of death squad.

I have taken much poetic licence but they are inspired by this photo:

He is referred to as riot kid. Basically from what I read about him on cracked.com is that Sao Paolo police get paid to kill street kids like him.

Here’s where I read about him and other “badass” kids from the folk at cracked.com:http://www.cracked.com/blog/6-images-kids-too-insane-to-be-real-that-totally-are/

Try not to get too addicted to that site, if you’re anything like me you will! Not all of it is great, but most of it is.

Is that all for today? Well not really, I could go on forever, but I will leave you with a quote I found (literally I found it on the floor at work!):

“There is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of ‘good’ weather” John Ruskin, english writer and art critic.

Peace!

About El Norto

I write haiku. This is my haiku journal.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #35

  1. I know the ‘escape’ feeling – it’s often illusory, there’s something inside that needs adjustment. Otherwise you end up going somewhere else and realise the problem is still there.

  2. Goodness. That’s intense! Still, I like that you’re taking your inspiration from real life. It’s that air of authenticity….

    • Haiku bear says:

      It is? Thanks for the vote of confidence! All of my haiku are inspired by real life (films too I guess), it gets a bit autobiographical sometimes. As always thanks for reading! I really enjoy your serial blog!

  3. symanntha says:

    Wow, that makes me so sad! (the story and little boy)

    I do like your second version better. 🙂

    And I feel your pain! I try to write something that will leave people breathless and unable to turn the page, or click away…..but that doesn’t always happen.

  4. symanntha says:

    Thanks! I have written a lot, but just started my blog and I want to put up my stuff slowly.

Leave a Reply

